NCAA Division I (FBS) BCS Presidents approve 4-team college football playoff for championship

June 26, 2012


BCS presidents approve four-team football playoff to begin in 2015

Current BCS contracts run through the 2013 season, so the playoff would go into effect after the 2014 season.

Virginia Tech President Charles Steger, third from left, smiles as he and others arrive for a media availability after a BCS presidential oversight committee meeting, Tuesday, June 26, 2012, in Washington. A committee of university presidents on Tuesday approved the BCS commissioners’ plan for a four-team playoff to start in the 2014 season. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)

Chuck Carlton
Dallas Morning News

WASHINGTON – We’re talking playoffs – for the first time – in major-college football.

What once seemed like the unlikeliest of possibilities following road block after road block will become reality.

The BCS Presidential Oversight Committee approved a four-team seeded playoff following the 2014 season. The national semifinals will be played in a six-bowl rotation, which could include the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic. The championship game will be bid out like the Super Bowl and the Final Four. A non-profit entity comprised of the Cotton Bowl Classic, Dallas Cowboys and Cowboys Stadium has already been formed to bid on the title game.

A selection committee, expected to be larger than its NCAA March Madness counterpart, will choose the team.

The playoff concept, little more than pipe dream after it was voted down in 2008 by the BCS commissioners, took shape during six meetings this year, two at DFW International Airport.

The meeting with the 12 presidents representing each BCS conference and Notre Dame lasted barely three hours, less than half the expected time. A presentation on the plus-one concept by Nebraska chancellor Harvey Perlman failed to sway the presidents from the consensus playoff plan endorsed by every commissioner in Chicago.


Audio: NPR All Things Considered

June 26, 2012


Video: ESPN BCS 4-Team Playoff Approved


BCS governance

The BCS is managed by the commissioners of the 11 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision conferences and the director of athletics at the University of Notre Dame. The conferences are Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt, Pac-12, Southeastern and Western Athletic.
The conference commissioners and the Notre Dame athletics director make decisions regarding all BCS issues, in consultation with an athletics directors advisory group and subject to the approval of a presidential oversight committee whose members represent all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision programs.


BCS executive director
Bill Hancock


Presidential Oversight Committee
Scott Cowen – President, Tulane University
Rev. John Jenkins – President, University of Notre Dame
Bernie Machen – President, University of Florida
Max Nikias – President, University of Southern California
Duane Nellis – President, University of Idaho
Harvey Perlman – Chancellor, University of Nebraska
John G. Peters – President, Northern Illinois University
Bill Powers – President, University of Texas
James Ramsey – President, University of Louisville
Gary Ransdell – President, Western Kentucky University
Charles W. Steger (chair) – President, Virginia Tech
John Welty – President, California State University, Fresno

Conference Commissioners and Notre Dame athletics director
Joseph Bailey III (Big East, interim)
Britton Banowsky (C-USA)
Karl Benson (Sun Belt)
Bob Bowlsby (Big 12)
Jim Delany (Big Ten)
Jeff Hurd (WAC, interim)
Larry Scott (Pac-12)
Mike Slive (SEC)
Jon Steinbrecher (MAC)
Jack Swarbrick (Notre Dame)
John Swofford (ACC)
Craig Thompson (MWC)

AD Advisory Group
Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin – Big Ten)
Tom Bowen (San Jose State – WAC)
Joe Castiglione (Oklahoma – Big 12)
Jeremy Foley (Florida – SEC)
Rick Greenspan (Rice – C-USA )
Pat Haden (USC – Pac-12)
Tom Jurich (Louisville – Big East)
Dean Lee (Arkansas State – Sun Belt)
Jim Livengood (UNLV – MWC)
Mike O’Brien (Toledo – MAC)
Dan Radakovich (Georgia Tech – ACC)

About Dilemma X

Dilemma X, LLC provides research dedicated to the progression of economic development. Our services aid clients in enhancing overall production statistics. Please visit for more information

View all posts by Dilemma X


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: