Remember Yesteryear: NCAA’s Tangerine Bowl 1966 – Morgan State University vs West Chester

Remember Yesteryear: NCAA’s Tangerine Bowl 1966 – Morgan State University vs West Chester

History was made in college football in 1966. It was the first time a Historically Black College or University won an integrated football bowl game.

Take look back at the year 1966, though these historical newspaper articles, when Morgan State College (now Morgan State University) defeated West Chester State College (now West Chester University) 14-6.

The Tangerine Bowl is now known as the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl. It was the Tangerine Bowl 1947–1982, the Florida Citrus Bowl 1983–2002 and the Capital One Bowl 2003–2014.



tangerine-bowl-November 1966

tangerine-bowl- November 1966

tangerine-bowl-December 1966

tangerine-bowl-December 1966

tangerine-bowl-1966 Morgan State University Football Team In Orlando

tangerine-bowl-1966 Morgan State Wins

Video: 1966 Tangerine Bowl Champions from Morgan State
50th Anniversary of the 1966 Tangerine Bowl Champions from Morgan State. From left to right:
Bob Wade, Harvey Palmore, George Nock, Ike Jackson, Dr. David Wilson President of Morgan State University, Earl Mayo, Dr. James Phillips, Willie Lanier NFL Hall of Famer, Dr. Abdul-Hakim Ali (formerly known as Alvin Mitchell), Daryl Johnson, Floyd Kerr Athletic Director of Morgan State, Ed Hayes.

1966 Morgan State Bears

Morgan State University

Source: Morgan State University

Morgan State University, a coeducational institution, is located in a residential section of Baltimore, Maryland. From its beginnings as a public campus, Morgan was open to students of all races. The campus covers an area of more than 143 acres.

The University offers a comprehensive range of academic programs through the doctorate. The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education list Morgan State University as a Doctoral Universities: Moderate Research Activity.

Founded in 1867 as the Centenary Biblical Institute by the Baltimore Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Morgan was named after the Rev. Lyttleton F. Morgan, who served as Chairman of the Board of Trustees from 1876-1886.

The College met the conditions and moved to its present site in northeast Baltimore in 1917.

Morgan remained a private institution until 1939. That year, the state of Maryland purchased the school. Morgan College became Morgan State College.

In 1975, the Maryland State Legislature designated Morgan as a university, gave it the authority to offer doctorates, and provided for it to once again have its own governing board. The name was changed to Morgan State University.

Morgan is one of the founding member institutions of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Division I (FCS). The other founding members are: Delaware State University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.

About Dilemma X

Dilemma X, LLC provides research dedicated to the progression of economic development. Our services aid clients in enhancing overall production statistics. Please visit for more information

View all posts by Dilemma X


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: