U.S. President Barack Obama’s approval rating

December 23, 2014

Did you know?, Government/Politics

U.S. President Barack Obama’s approval rating

President Barack Obama’s job approval rating has settled down into a significantly smaller range in 2014 than it has in any of his five previous years in office. This year, through the week that ended Dec. 14, Obama’s weekly approval averages have ranged between a high of 45% and a low of 40%. The only other year even close to that narrow range of weekly approval averages was 2010, when his weekly averages ranged over eight percentage points, from 51% to 43%. In each of the other four years, the range in his job approval fell between 11 and 18 points.

Of course, there are remarkably few presidents since the advent of modern polling who actually were elected to two terms and served through to the end of their sixth year in office, where Obama is now. In other words, there aren’t a lot of presidents with whom to compare Obama at this point in his administration — only Dwight Eisenhower, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton and George W. Bush.

The data show that Obama is doing better than George W. Bush was at this point in his sixth year, but not doing as well as any of the other three presidents.

Source: Gallup, Inc.

President approval rating

Barack Obama is the 17th President to be elected to at least two terms out of 44

13 Presidents who were elected AND completed at least 2 full terms:

George Washington April 30, 1789– March 4, 1797
Thomas Jefferson March 4, 1801 – March 4, 1809
James Madison March 4, 1809 – March 4, 1817
James Monroe March 4, 1817 – March 4, 1825
Andrew Jackson March 4, 1829 – March 4, 1837
Ulysses S. Grant March 4, 1869 – March 4, 1877
Grover Cleveland (the only US president to serve two nonconsecutive terms) March 4, 1885 – March 4, 1889 and March 4, 1893 – March 4, 1897
Woodrow Wilson March 4, 1913 – March 4, 1921
Franklin D. Roosevelt (served 3 full terms, died early in 4th term) March 4, 1933 – April 12, 1945
Dwight Eisenhower January 20, 1953 – January 20, 1961
Ronald Reagan January 20, 1981 – January 20, 1989
Bill Clinton January 20, 1993 – January 20, 2001
George W. Bush January 20, 2001 – January 20, 2009

Note: Three additional Presidents (Abraham Lincoln, William McKinley, and Richard Nixon) were elected to a second term, but did NOT complete their second term due to assassinations and a resignation.

About Dilemma X

Dilemma X, LLC provides research dedicated to the progression of economic development. Our services aid clients in enhancing overall production statistics. Please visit http://www.dilemma-x.com for more information

View all posts by Dilemma X


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: